Proudly Serving the Hulet and Devils Tower Community

Local Republicans remember their legacy

Dignitaries and members of the Crook County Republican Party gathered on Saturday night for the annual Lincoln Day Dinner, a fundraising event that once again attracted a sold-out crowd.

Hosted at Central Office this year, the dinner is intended to "support conservative candidates for public office" and saw 221 attendees enjoy an evening to the theme of "Remembering Our Legacy."

State dignitaries in attendance included Governor Mark Gordon and First Lady Jennie Gordon, State Treasurer Curt Meier, Secretary of State Ed Buchanan, State Auditor Kristi Racines, Superintendent of Public Instruction Bryan Schroeder, Representative Chip Neiman and Senator Ogden Driskill.

As guests mingled and took their seats, political candidates local, national and from across Wyoming took the opportunity to meet and greet the crowd. For example, Jennifer and Tom James, a Sweetwater County couple aiming to be a husband-wife team in the legislature, expressed their gratitude to the local party for inviting them to attend the event.

Speakers for the evening began with a presentation from Gordon, who spoke about his administration's efforts to protect Wyoming industruct and focus on supporting recreation and industry in this area. He was followed by candidates for public office, who were invited to introduce themselves.

Harriet Hageman, candidate for U.S. House of Representatives, spoke of her mantra of "accountability", while gubernatorial candidates Brent Bien and Rex Rammell were both given an opportunity to step up to the podium.

Additional speakers included Secretary of State Ed Buchanan, State Treasurer Curt Meier, all three candidates for superintendent of public instruction – Brian Schroeder, Megan Degenfelder and Tom Kelly – State Auditor Kristi Racines, candidate for Senate District 1 Bill Fortner, Driskill and Neiman.

County level candidates also took the mic, including Sheriff Jeff Hodge, Julie Altaffer of the Clerk of District Court's Office, candidate for county treasurer Tami Jundt and Jeanne Whalen and Bob Latham, both candidates for county commissioner.

"Living legacy" awards were presented to individuals who "kept the party growing" through the years, including Myrna and Chuck Tesch, Thea Nuckolls Lemmel, Mark and Sheila Semlek, Jim and Sally Ann Neiman, Minnie Williams, Wayne and Mary Wolff, Thorval and Janet Jensen, Cleo Roberts, Jeanne Wyatt, Mark Hughes, Shirley Hoese, Susan Worthington and Nels and Jeannette Smith.

The dinner also provided an opportunity for the Crook County Republican Party to announce the winner of the annual $1000 scholarship, designed to foster interest and involvement in conservative values. The scholarship was presented to Nate Schommer, who will attend Sheridan College with a focus on finance.

Rendered 07/15/2024 00:01